An Inspiring Moment

The day had come and I was super excited.  Excited to wake up REALLY early and drive to the WPPI road show.  It was completely and utterly worth it.  It was simply sublime.  To see so many other excited individuals who were amped up for an awesome line up of speakers, all there to learn all things photography just like me.  I was preparing and hyped up to hear Dawn Shields, Joe Buissink and The Boudoir Divas speak.  To soak in all the knowledge and advice they had to share and it was great advice.  🙂 I also got the distinct pleasure of meeting Dixie Dixon.  I love her work and she is amazing–I totally love her style.  The mini-trade show they had was nice, informative and helpful. Special shout out to David Willis at Leather Craftsman and Sean Roach at Pounds Lab–they were very helpful about their products and truly enjoy doing what they do.

I cannot possibly talk to you about the entire road show; I would be typing all night!  It was something great to walk away from.   I did meet a talented photography from the Houston area, Maureen Light.  Her work is one of a kind and I LOVE IT!  Yes it is evident that I love a lot of things–I can’t help it, I have love in my heart.  😉 I would like to share with you some captures from the event.  Dawn Shields gave me major shoe envy!!! 😉

Dawn was insanely informative on tons of wedding information. Things that I had not considered but then again things I had noticed while flipping thru a bridal magazine or booklets that advertise wedding announcement pictorials as well as engagements.  She would know–that is what she does.  😉  She knows exactly what she is talking about and she gave us excellent advice when making purchases, layouts and so many other things.  She is an remarkable photographer, as well as an individual, with a beautiful gift.  A part of her story is almost unimaginable and the piece that she did on the experience is truly remarkable.  I loved hearing her speak and also hearing her story, firsthand…her words.

Dixie has the coolest personality.  It was Dawn who called her up to the stage from the back and I was lucky enough to chat it up with both Dawn and Dixie.  Dixie’s fashion photography pieces are pretty fierce!  She is a talented photographer; they both are.

There are times when you hear an individual speak with so much passion that it ignites a spark inside of you.  It gives you that extra push.  Well that would be Joe Buissink.  The man is beyond talented and his work simply speaks volumes to you.  It literally brought tears to my eyes as well as lots of others that were in attendance.   He has photographed Jennifer Lopez, Christina Applegate, Steven Spieldberg, Christina Aguilera, and so many more.  His work is amazing.  His photographs tell a story.  You get the wedding but you get the story being unfolded in a way that is captured brilliantly.  Anyone who attends a workshop that he is hosting or appearing as a speaker at is in for a treat.  It is a motivating experience.

The Boudoir Divas are downright awesome!  Marissa Boucher & Kimberlee West are two very talented ladies who have literally brought boudoir back.  Their style is classy, sexy and flattering and it is absolutely exquisite.  They continue to bring more and more to the table.  Check out their beach themed editorial shoot.  Love it!  Learning from them, hearing how they shoot their subjects, what lighting they use, their poses and so much more was a treat within itself.  And then to get the opportunity to get onstage and be directed by them was an honor.   These woman are amazing and their business will continue to succeed.

The experience was so worth it and it gave me a small taste as to what is in store for the future. To all of the individuals who spoke, thank you for your genuine words of wisdom, experience and truth–it was appreciated and absorbed.  When you are surrounded by so much positive energy, it is always a great feeling. Until next time, I hope everyone enjoyed this unique dated Sunday!

“I laugh, I love, I hope, I try, I hurt, I need, I fear, I cry. And I know you do the same things too, so we’re really not that different, me and you.” {Colin Raye}

One comment on “An Inspiring Moment

  1. […] out the whole blog post here: Life Behind My Lens Here are a couple pictures she snapped with […]

Leave a comment