Adding Some Flair to My Life

→Don’t forget to check out my new blog, as I do not get the chance to update this one regularly! ← 

I am in the sky above parts unknown floating way above cloud nine at the moment. As I look to my right at a blanket of white clouds I cannot help but feel extremely thankful. Life is good and it is always good when you stay in the positive mindset versus the negative. Turbulence will always arise in our lives but the glass is always half full. 😉
I had the distinct honor to be in Lindsay Adler’s live classroom for her creativeLIVE Fashion Flair for Portrait & Wedding Photographers Workshop this past weekend and it was ah-mazing!! Not “oh it was great” it was more like that OMG feeling after a much needed massage great!! Lindsay blew my mind-hole and I look forward to seeing her again in the near future. This chick is hands down awesome and accomplishing so many things and excelling in life on a daily basis. I know one reason why: she’s truly passionate about her work and photography in general. She is a beautiful person on in the inside as well as the outside and oh my goodness I still want that white floral print dress you wore on the first day!! Great pick Lila!! She pretty much covered everything from A-Z during her time on creativeLIVE and if you missed her workshops, they are available for purchase on the site. $149 is a steal for this workshop! She was completely hands on, involved us students from day one and when I say day one, I mean from the moment we were chosen to be in her classroom. I was completely thrilled by the homework assignments that she gave us and it pushed my creativity to the max before I ever arrived in Seattle! I never doubted myself because she was there with us every step of the way letting us know that she had faith in us. My passion for photography is not a game, nor is it a hobby–it is my artform. I never thought in a million years that I would make a tutu skirt but I did and I was damn proud of my skirt too!! It turned out great and fit Sara, my ballerina model perfectly! Speaking of Sara, BIG shout out to you young lady!! You completely rocked my socks off and proved to me that my concept was not crazy, strange or weird! You helped execute a vision that was in my head beautifully and I cannot thank you enough for your professionalism, constant contact over these past four weeks, your remarkable talent and for simply being you. You rocked our session and we made an awesome team!! 😀 You never know when I’ll be on the West Coast again for a collaboration but in the meantime, I do hope that Russell Andes creates some awesome work with you. A huge thank you goes to Beckie McCann of Vintage Ambiance for the pieces that she allowed me to use to create my French inspired dressing room set. All of her vintage pieces are amazing and available as rentals if you are having a wedding, party, reception or if you need to create a set. You should definitely check out her pieces as she has TONS of goodies!! You should have seen what my set looked like to begin with!! Beckie you are amazing and I cannot thank you enough!
I could go on and on but I must contain myself or else this blog post will become a novella!! A huge thank you to the uber talented makeup artist Lindsey Watkins that understood my vision and executed it far beyond my dreams! I had no doubt that she could or would but given the time constraints we were faced with, she knocked it out of the ball park Barry Bonds style! If you need a super talented makeup artist, especially for commercial use, she is your artist. When I think of Lindsey Watkins, The Golden Girls theme song pops into my head, “Thank you for being a friend!”
It was also great to see my Seattle peeps! Kenna K., Susan R., LeRae, Andes, Ian, Todd, my fake husband John C., Teth, Nikko and everyone else at the cL studio it is always a pleasure being in your company. I wish each and every one of you continued success in life, both personally and professionally. I also made a new friend thanks to Susan & LaRae and I am so glad that I did because Elissa you are awesome!! Lila it was GREAT to meet you in person and I love your aura–you are good people–and I wish you success with your photography business, as well as with your little spitfire model!! 😉 No one can model as vintage camera as fierce as you! Seriously! Ending the night with such great people, sinfully delicious dessert and great conversation was the perfect way for me to wrap up my time in Seattle. It was great to meet so many inspiring and creative individuals and I know our paths will cross again in the future! I think we should all setup a date for WPPI 2013! 😀 XoRo
“Don’t just take a photograph, make a piece of art.” ~Lindsay Adler~

Kenna was working away as we shot the 1950s Glam session outside in the alley and I love this double exposure shot I got of her.

Kristin got the pleasure of being Samatha & Robin's during the workshop.I love this beautiful shot of Sara as she sits en pointe beside the gorgeous natural light from our natural light session.A little Lensbaby Composer Pro love to make this set and model look even more dreamy in this gorgeous natural light!A beautiful ballerina surrounded by gorgeous vintage Voltaire books, cameras and beautiful natural light.

Leave a Reply

